I use Amazon Associate links to support the site and my writing.

Spells & Stardust

Spells & Stardust - J. Scott Coatsworth
Editions:Kindle - First: $ 3.99
Pages: 136
Kindle (Abkhazian) - First: $ 9.99 AUD
Pages: 136

Spells & Stardust is Scott's first anthology - eight sci fi and fantasy shorts that run the gamut from regeneration to redemption.

The Bear at the Bar: A gay fish out of water tale with a pinch of magic.

Tight: What happens when your lover disappears in midair?

Morgan: The year when everything changed.

Re-Life: What if you were reborn in a strange new future?

A New Year: They met every eleven years. And each time, Hank's life changed.

Repetition: What if you wanted to go back in the closet?

Gargoyle: Sometimes you get what you deserve. Sometimes it happens on All Hallows Eve.

Avalon: A few bright moments in the sun, stolen from outside time.

Most of these stories have been previously published in various anthologies and journals. This is the first time they have all been collected in one place.


The edge of the old cement pediment crumbled away beneath Hank’s feet into the river far below, glistening in the light of the almost-full moon. The bridge railing was cold at his back—he could feel it all the way through his jacket and shirt to his skin. He could see his breath glowing in the night air.

The nearly-frozen water rushed by in the river below, flowing under the bridge behind him and on toward the ocean far away in a steady flow, silver in the moonlight and heavily laden with winter rain. As soon as he gathered his courage, Hank would let go of his grip on the railing and fall into those icy waters, to disappear forever from the world of men.

It was New Year's Day, 1986, an hour after midnight, and it was the end of things for Hank.

Or it should have been.

It was also the night he first met Dale.

I use Amazon Associate links to support the site and my writing.

Travels Through the Scarlet Equinox Anthology

Book Cover: Travels Through the Scarlet Equinox Anthology
Editions:Kindle - First Edition: $ 6.99
ISBN: B017QL9Q28
Pages: 431
Paperback - First Edition: $ 15.99
ISBN: 978-1519319203
Pages: 430

The Autumnal equinox—when the trees dress in their formal scarlet and gold and the crisp air whispers of chance and change, when bright days turn into sudden storms and the veil between reality and imagination thins.

Join the Mischief Corner authors as they share stories evoking this often unpredictable time of year.

My story, The Autumn Lands:

Jerrith is running. Kissed by an elf, he can’t remain in his hometown of Althos any more. Not that he wanted to stay. Caspian still hasn’t figured out why he kissed Jerrith, but he’s running too.

Since he was exiled from the Autumn Lands, his past has been hazy, and his future uncertain.

But when a stray memory brings things into focus, the two decide to run toward something together. What they uncover will change how they see the world, and themselves, forever.

Publisher: Mischief Corner Books
Cover Artists:
Reviews:Diane on Hearts on Fire Reviews wrote:

Travels Through the Scarlet Equinox is the 6th anthology released by Mischief Corner Books. This time around, autumn was the theme for the stories and they include A Bear’s Bear: Smoky Mountain Bears 3 – the third installment of the bear shifter series by Toni Griffin; The Autumn Lands by J. Scott Coatsworth which is a story about fae and humans; Beside a Black Tarn: Brimstone 4 by Angel Martinez – Shax is back, along with his crew as well as someone from his past and Eternity in the Tides by Freddy MacKay.

I quite like anthologies, which I believe I’ve mentioned before, especially when there is a theme and then each author interprets the theme for their story their own way. For most anthologies I’ve read, this has made for some very interesting reading, and has even gotten me hooked on authors I have not read before. In this case, I am fan of three of the authors already, but J. Scott Coatsworth is relatively new to me and I loved his story in this anthology! …

The Autumn Lands is the story of a human boy, Jerrith, who is kissed by an elf, Caspian, who has been exiled from his home, the Autumn Lands, although he does not know why since his memory has been erased. The kiss leads to the two young men being on the run and as they are, Caspian’s hazy memory starts to clear, he realizes Jerrith is not just any boy and somehow, he will show him the Autumn Lands. I loved this one, it’s an adventure, it is romantic and yet innocent, it drew me in and I had a hard time putting it down until I knew where their adventure led!

Author’s note: I was lucky enough to be invited to participate in this anthology, and turned in my longest published work to date – “The Autumn Lands” (also available as a stand-alone below).